Search Our Site

Find an Author, Find a Book:

The Ledge of Quetzal: Beyond 2012
A Magical Adventure to Discover the Real Promise of the Mayan Prophecy
Jock Whitehouse, Illustrations by Tom Knapp
ISBN: 9781578634590
Book (Paperback)
Weiser Books
$14.95
5 1/2 x 8 1/2
144 pages
Illustrations & wood engravings
September 1, 2009


Quantity:

On December 21, 2012, there will be an opportunity for the meek to prevail. So speaks one of the Mexican sages in Jock Whitehouse’s 2012 anti-apocalypse book The Ledge of Quetzal.

“There was a growing momentum of darkness in the world. As climate change spawned wildfires, tornadoes, hurricanes and floods; as earthquakes and mudslides turned entire villages into rubble; as political, social and religious differences gave rise to terrorism, genocide, and war; as the world teetered on the edge of economic chaos, it was not hard to imagine apocalypse in the making. The Maya, however, along with numerous other cultures and disciplines, had somehow discerned the largest cosmic cycles of man’s destiny and the forces that surrounded it. And in those cycles they found, like the pause of a pendulum at its apogee, an opportunity for total change. It was like a second chance for all mankind.”

Yes, the weather is changing, world economies are shaky, terrorism and nationalism and fanatical leaders threaten global security. Some say civilization is ending.

Can it be saved? Yes. Who can do that? We can.

That’s the message that comes through in this wild adventure story – in the tradition of Castaneda and Coelho, deep into the heart of southern Mexico and its rich traditions of plant-based hallucinogens and the spiritual clarity they awaken.

Jock Whitehouse is the author of The Ledge of Quetzal. A professional writer who studied under Rod Serling, he has spent many years in Mexico, first as a child and later as an adult, where he experienced the mystical native traditions that inform the mythological core of his allegory. He lives in San Miguel de Allende, Mexico. (Photo credit: Deborah Whitehouse)
      See all titles by this author

Red Wheel/Weiser - World

Sample Content:
The Preface and Chapter One

Of Related Interest:
The Astrology of 2012 and Beyond
Serpent of Light: Beyond 2012: The Movement of the Earth's Kundalini and the Rise of the Female Light